Fourth of July goodness!

After watching the movie Back to the Future tonight I decided to take a little trip back in time with all my blogging friends…

Hold on to your seatbelts this is gonna be a bumpy ride!

BOOM!

July 4th, 2012…. what a long journey we took, aha!

Well in all seriousness this is definitely one of my favorite days of the year.  I mean for me its the kick off to my summer.  Once the fourth is here you know its officially summertime!  The suns out, food on the grill, the living is easy.  Not only do I enjoy all these wonderful aspects of the day, but I also love the sense of pride in the air for our country.  In order to honor our country and make sure my family and friends were well fed I decided to bake up some….

Red Velvet Cupcakes with the BEST Cream Cheese Frosting in the world!

In order to make these I followed my own (Secret (; ) recipe for the red velvet cake and used this cream cheese frosting recipe:

( http://iambaker.net/zucchini-cupcakes-and-the-best-cream-cheese-frosting ),

which did I add was the BEST cream cheese frosting I’ve ever had!  I find that a lot of the time cream cheese frosting happens to be a bit to tangy for me, and also runny.  This frosting isn’t the best to pipe, which is why I opted to just spread it on the cupcakes, but the flavor was definitely noticeably less tangy, and much more sweet, just what I was going for.

Cookie Dough Cupcakes!

These cupcakes were fabulous!  All the kids raved about how delicious they were, and while the adults liked them, they favored the red velvets more due to the sweet factors these babies deliver.  For these little cups of deliciousness I opted to use my favorite vanilla cake, and stuff it with egg-free cookie dough once they were cooked.  Many recipes call for the cookie dough to be frozen the night before and baked in, but I enjoyed the soft texture of the cookie dough inside of the soft, delicate cake- the balance was PERFECT!  My favorite vanilla cake recipe is a secret because I’am planning to use it for things in the future but the recipe for the dough and frosting are posted directly below.   WARNING:  This frosting may cause excessive spoon licking, eat with caution.

Recipe from Kevin and Amanda (http://www.kevinandamanda.com/)

For the cookie dough:
2 sticks softened butter
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
4 tbsp milk
1 tbsp vanilla
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup mini chocolate chips

To make the cookie dough, combine the butter and sugars in a mixing bowl and cream on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 mins. Beat in milk and vanilla until incorporated and smooth. Beat in the flour and salt until just combined. Stir in the chocolate chips. Using a 1.5 tbsp scoop, shape the dough into balls or tubes. Freeze on a parchment lined baking sheet overnight.

Recipe from Raspberri Cupcakes:

For the icing:

350g (3 sticks) unsalted butter, chopped into cubes

400g (about 3 1/4 cups) icing/confectioner’s sugar, sifted

1/2 can (200g/7 oz) sweetened condensed milk

Prepare the icing; remove the butter from the fridge about 30 mins before starting. Place butter in a large mixing bowl and beat with an electric mixer on high until smooth and fluffy, then reduce speed and gradually add icing sugar. Beat again on high until well combined. Add condensed milk and beat on high until fluffy.

For both of the cupcakes I choose to decorate some with red, white, and blue jimmies, while other had a simple dust of jimmies and a strawberry.  For the strawberries all I did was dip them in melted white almond bark, and sprinkle the tips of the strawberry with blue sprinkles to make them have that patriotic feel!

Lastly I made my favorite dessert of them all…. if you guessed brownies you were right!

Not only were these brownies delicious they actually weren’t too bad for you either.  Hard to believe, right?  Well the secret is that they’re vegan, and I know vegan doesn’t mean its healthy, but that was my goal… a healthy, delicious, scrumptious brownie and I achieved it!  This again is a classified brownie recipe, but I decided to link to my second favorite vegan brownie, which I love!

From:  (I’am unsure of the source.. note that I don’t take credit for this recipe)

Vegan Brownies

1/2 cup canola oil

2/3 cup water + 1/2 cup

2 cups granulated sugar

2 tablespoons flaxmeal (Bob’s)

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1.5 cup all purpose flour

.5 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, herseys.

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  1. Grease and flour (or use baking spray in) a 9×13″ baking pan.
  2. Whisk together all dry ingredients, except sugar in a medium bowl and set aside.
  3. In a large, separate bowl beat together oil, water, sugar, vanilla, and flaxmeal on medium speed until very well mixed.
  4. Add dry mixture to wet. Stir or beat on low speed until just-mixed and smooth. Do not overmix, but don’t undermix either. The batter will be thick but smooth.
  5. Add in 1/2 cup of water, mix
  6. Spread mixture evenly into your baking pan.
  7. Bake on middle oven rack for 20-25 minutes. Test with finger (don’t burn yourself!). Top should be crusty, but innards should still have a little bit of “give.”

Use this recipe and top with some delicious vegan chocolate buttercream and some chocolate chips and you’ll be in chocolate-y bliss!

Well guys that is it.  I hope everyone had a fabulous fourth, and thanks for reading!

xox & some sugar from the kitchen,

Brooke B.

4 responses to “Fourth of July goodness!

Leave a Reply

