Bringing you a little bit of Fall in the Summer Heat! (Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Pumpkin Spice Cream Cheese Frosting)

Today I’ve decided to veer away a little from what I’d normally post.  Usually my posts are/will be full of sticks of butter, pounds of chocolate, and of course heaps of delicious frosting.  Well fun thing about this post is that these yummy cupcakes taste as though they would be filled with sticks of butter, and have more calories than you should consume in a sitting, but they are a mere 133 calories all frosted up!  Woah to the healthier treats!

Soo.. I know what you are thinking 133 calories, these are probably extremely rubbery and totally inedible, but that is totally wrong-o!  Before I bit in I was bracing myself for another low-calorie sweet failure, but these bad boys were far from a failure, I’d say they were a sucess for sure!  The proof of this all is is the fact that my Dad downed 4 within the first day of me making them!  My Dad is an avid non-diet food eater.  Anything low-cal, low fat, or no sugar added will never pass his lips… little did he know that these were low-cal and low-fat and he LOVED them!

The cupcake was absolutely phenomenal.  Soft, moist, semi- airy, but certainly not dense at all!  The flavor of the cake was reminiscent of pumpkin bread, which totally blew me away.  I liked the frosting, and I think it went well with the cake, but it was not the type of frosting I’d sit around eating off the paddle of my mixer like I usually do.  The flavor was very strong, and the spices in the frosting definitely were present and prominent.  Also this frosting is only faintly sweet, which makes me not the biggest fan. When I make these babies again, which I definitely will be doing in the Fall, I’m going to stick with the traditional low-fat cream cheese frosting recipe Gina’s blog has as well.  Her regular low-fat cream cheese frosting blows you out of the water, and there is no hint whatsoever that it is light.  I will link this yummy recipe as well!

I know its the middle of the summer, and probably one of the last things you want to think about is it coming to an end.  When you start seeing pumpkin flavored treats you know Fall is definitely here!  Now just because this is a pumpkin treat doesn’t mean you should shy away, I promise you these will not bring an end to your summer of fun!  If you have a can of pumpkin sitting around I’d urge you to do the can a favor and use it up before it goes bad or before it can go to good use in the Fall!  But if you like to wait for pumpkin-y treats till Fall, then keep this recipe on file and then be sure to give it a go at any of your Fall celebrations or just for a yummy treat!

(Photo by me, sorry for the note so pretty picture, the frosting is quite hard to pipe, so I simply frosted them!)

Pumpkin Cupcakes with Pumpkin Spice Cream Cheese Frosting

via Gina’s Skinny Recipes (Skinnytaste.com)

(http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/09/pumpkin-cupcakes-with-pumpkin-spiced.html )

Servings- 24

Nutritional Facts for 1 frosted cupcake- Calories- 133 Fat-4.3

Nutritional Facts for 1 unfrosted cupcake- Calories- 95 Fat-2

Ingredients:

  • 18.25 oz Betty Crocker Golden Vanilla Super Moist Cake Mix (Pillsbury Golden Butter Recipe- 18.25 oz)
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (1 & 3/4 tsp apple pie spice & 1/4 tsp ginger)
  • 1 cup canned 100% pure pumpkin
  • 1 cup water

For the Pumpkin Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 8 oz Philadelphia 1/3 fat cream cheese (do not use fat free) (I used neufachatel cheese, which is basically 1/3 fat cream cheese)
  • 1/2 cup pureed pumpkin (canned is fine) (I used libby’s canned)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (3/4 apple pie & 1/4 ginger)
  • 5 tbsp packed brown sugar (I used light)

* my modifications are in orange above.  Note that I used Apple pie & Ginger spices, instead of Pumpkin Pie spice because I didn’t have any pumpkin pie spice.  The flavor came out almost identical to the point where I couldn’t even tell that I hadn’t used Pumpkin Pie spice!

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°. Line a cupcake tin with cupcake wrappers.

Combine cake mix and pumpkin spice in a large bowl. Add pumpkin puree and water, mix about 2 minutes.


Fill
 cupcake liners 2/3 full and bake about 20 – 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. (I baked mine on the middle rack for 15 minutes, so be sure to check before 20 minutes are up! ) 

For the frosting, combine the cream cheese, pumpkin, vanilla, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and brown sugar until smooth. You can use a spatula to ice the cupcakes or pipe them which may require making more frosting.

Here is the recipe for Gina’s regular light cream cheese frosting:

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2009/08/low-fat-cream-cheese-frosting.html

(Photo by me.  Mixing up the cake mix with the spices)

(Photo by me.  The cupcakes straight out of the oven!   They are delicious like this too with just a little butter!)

xox,& sugar from the kitchen,

Brooke B.

5 responses to “Bringing you a little bit of Fall in the Summer Heat! (Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Pumpkin Spice Cream Cheese Frosting)

  1. I love how you lightened up these little cupcakes. Thanks for stopping by my website so that I could find yours. Look forward to keeping in touch. Take Care, BAM

Leave a Reply

