Death by Chocolate Cupcakes (Only 145 calorie per cupcake!)

Unfortunately one of my good friends is spending some time in the hospital.  Tonight I’m paying her a visit to do some catching up and hopefully brighten her day a little, and what better to brighten somebody’s day then with a batch of chocolate cupcakes!

I’ve always found that chocolate can make anything better…. except of course your waist line… that one it always tends to hurt, just a tad.  Although most of the time I’m willing to take on a little to my waist line to indulge in the deliciousness that is chocolate,  I realize that I can’t always do that if I want to maintain a healthy, balanced diet and body.

The problem is though that avoiding chocolate would be totally impossible for me, so I’ve been on a quest to create a cupcake to quench my need for the decadent chocolate desserts I love, like Death by chocolate cake or flourless chocolate cake.  Well folks, I’am proud to say I’ve come up with an alternative to these desserts I would eat every night and it would have NO effect on my waist line, thats right, it is that healthy!

This cupcake is a skinny version of my Chocolate Nirvana Cake, which I made a couple weeks back.  It is not exactly the same, and isn’t as rich as death by chocolate fudge cake that probably has thousands of calories, but let me tell you at 145 calories and 2.2 grams of fat a cupcake you can’t beat this!  Seriously, 145 calories!  Add a scoop of light ice cream, and you have a delicious, low calorie alternative to the thousand calorie death by chocolate cake!

I have tried Gina’s skinny recipe’s cream cheese frosting and really enjoyed it.  I made a carrot cake using this frosting and even though the frosting was quite tangy, something I tend to not like, I thought it complimented the carrot cake nicely and I enjoyed it throughly.  I knew that for this cupcake I wanted to make a low-calorie and low-fat chocolate frosting.  I haven’t had time yet to dabble with making a lower calorie, low-fat buttercream, so I opted for something I knew, which was low-fat and calorie cream cheese frosting.  As I said before Gina’s frosting isn’t super sweet, so I took it upon myself to adjust the sweetness to my liking.  I’m very pleased with this frosting and it complimented the cake perfectly!  (Although I will be on the prowl to create a lower calorie and fat buttercream, and I will post a skinny death by chocolate cupcake with this very soon!)

The cake was also a recipe from Gina’s, which I modified just a little!  It was FABULOUS.  Super moist, not overly decadent, but not lacking chocolate favorite whatsoever.  The pumpkin taste is none existent.

For the glaze, which was meant to be a stand in for the traditional ganache on Death By chocolate cake, I used a Gina’s recipe as well, which was also very good!

Super Moist Chocolate Cupcakes

via Gina’s Skinny Recipes Blog – Modifications by Me (Brooke B.) 

Servings 24

91 calories per serving

Ingredients:

  • 18.25 oz Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge cake mix (15.25 oz Betty Crocker Supermoist Chocolate Fudge Mix)
  • 1.4 oz sugar free, fat free, instant chocolate pudding (I used chocolate fudge, fat free, sugar free pudding- Jello brand)
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling) (Libby’s canned pumpkin puree)
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 6 tbsp Chocolate Cake Mix (because I used a 15.25 oz mix I had to add a little extra cake mix.  I used Paula Deen’s Chocolate cake mix because that was what I had on hand)
Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°. Line a cupcake tin with cupcake liners.

Combine pumpkin puree and water in a large bowl; mix to combine. Add chocolate pudding mix and mix well.

Add chocolate cake mix and beat 2 minutes.

Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full and bake about 25 – 28 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool in pan on wire rack for 15 minutes.

Link to original recipe: http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/10/super-moist-low-fat-chocolate-cupcakes.html

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

via Gina’s Skinny Recipe- Modifications by Me (Brooke B.)

Servings 24- makes a little over 3/4 a cup

43 calories per serving

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz 1/3 fat Philadelphia Cream Cheese (Neufchatel Cheese- 4oz)
  • 1 cup powdered sugar (1.5 cups powdered sugar)
  • .5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1.5 tbsp Cocoa Powder (I used Hersey’s Cocoa Powder- unsweetened)
  • 1/4 tsp butter extract

Directions:
Beat together cream cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla until smooth. (I just beat all ingredients until smooth)

Link to original recipe: http://www.skinnytaste.com/2009/08/low-fat-cream-cheese-frosting.html

Chocolate Glaze

via Gina’s Skinny Recipe Blog

Servings 24- you may have some extra

11 calories per serving

  • 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2-1 tbsp 1% milk (I used vanilla soy milk)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

For the glaze: combine all dry ingredients, add vanilla and 1/2 tbsp milk, adding more 1/4 tsp at a time if needed until smooth.

Link to original recipe: http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/10/super-moist-low-fat-chocolate-cupcakes.html

In order to put the cupcakes together I baked them, allowed them to cool for about an hour, whipped up the cream cheese frosting, frosted each with about 1.5-2 tsp of frosting, then drizzled each with the chocolate glaze.  You can sprinkle them with jimmies, or garnish them with a few chocolate chips, just be aware that any of those extra toppings will add to the calorie count!

(The cupcakes fresh out of the oven.  My photo.)

(Cupcake mid-frost.  Photo by me.)

(The cupcakes frosted before the chocolate glaze drizzle.  Photo by me.)

(These are Skinny Death By chocolate cupcakes with sprinkles to make them look a little cheerier, as a get well treat!  Photo by me.)

(All done, and ready for my belly!  Photo by me.)

Now head on into the kitchen and indulge yourself without all that guilt!

xox & sugar from the kitchen,

Brooke B.

6 responses to “Death by Chocolate Cupcakes (Only 145 calorie per cupcake!)

Leave a Reply

