Skinny & Healthier Lemon Blueberry Glazed Loaf! (150 Calories a slice!)- Plus an announcement!

Hey Guys!

So after much great feedback from my tasters back at home, and my own love for my skinny death by chocolate cupcakes I’ve made the decision to dedicate the majority of my blog posts to recipes for skinny desserts and sweets!

I love the idea because I’m a person who HAS to eat dessert EVERY night, therefore I prefer when they are a bit healthier and have less calories than the average dessert splurge every now and then.  My goal for The Sweet Prima Donna is to give to you guys yummy, fantastic, healthier recipes for alternatives to the crazy, decadent desserts that are out there that you’d never think could be made ‘better for you’ or with less calories/ fat.

And with that I give to you the 150 calorie (per slice) Lemon & Blueberry glazed loaf!  This bread is crazyyyyyyyyyy good!  Like I wanted to lick the plate good.

I got the recipe originally from Eat Yourself Skinny, another great blog that offers up skinnier alternatives to some classic recipes.  I saw that her recipe though used 2 eggs, and 6 tablespoons of butter… not too shabby, but I definitely was ready to take on the challenge of making it a bit more nutritious, and lower fat/calories. I chose to substitute a little more than half the butter with plain 0% fat greek yogurt, which took out lots of the added fat to this bread, and added a little bit of protein.  Even if it is only a small amount of protein it is better than all the lack of nutrients the butter would’ve punched.  I don’t think eggs are bad or lacking nutrients, but obviously the purpose was to lower the fat and calories, so I opted to substitute one of the eggs for some natural, no sugar added applesauce mixed with baking powder.  By adding the baking powder to the applesauce you give it qualities that are similar to that of an egg when it is baked.  Lastly I also chose to cut back on the sugar, only by 2 tablespoons, but every bit counts!  That cut back the sugar by 24 grams for the whole recipe, and 100 extra calories that would’ve been added to the loaf, so either way it was a good choice!

This bread would be good to eat for dessert, like I did tonight, or really anytime of day.  It is 12 servings per loaf, but if you wanted to make it a 6 serving loaf, meaning each slice has 300 calories, and have a piece of fruit on the side, that’d be a hearty, delicious breakfast!  I plan to make this for Easter next year.  It’ll certainly be a crowd pleaser, and I bet my family will gladly replace our usual sugar rich lemon and blueberry streusel and glaze loaf for this healthier alternative!

Overall grade- A

Blueberry & Lemon Loaf

(Photo by Me. Sorry for the poor lighting!)

Recipe via Eat Yourself Skinny- Modifications by Me (Brooke B.)

Servings 12-

Calories include glaze:

Calories- 149

Fat-2.5g

Fiber-1g

Protein-2.9

Sugar-17g

without glaze:

128 calories per slice for 12 slice serving loaf

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

6 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature (2 Tbsp salted butter, room temperature,  & 4 Tbsp 0% Greek Yogurt- I used Chobani Plain)

6 Tbsp Splenda (or 3/4 cup white sugar) (1/2 cup & 2 Tbsp granulated white sugar)

2 large eggs (1 lg egg, and 1/4 cup applesauce w/ 1/2 Tsp baking powder)

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 Tbsp grated lemon zest (about 1 lemon) (1 & 1/2 Tsp lemon extract)

1/2 cup fat-free milk (1/2 cup 1% milk)

1 cup fresh blueberries (I used frozen)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and place the oven rack in the center of the oven.  Spray with a non-stick vegetable spray (or butter if you prefer) the bottom and sides of a loaf pan (9 x 5 x 3 inch). (I lined a 8×5 loaf pan with parchment paper for easy removal)  In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.

In the bowl of your electric mixer, or with a hand mixer, beat the butter (beat yogurt w/ butter) until softened (about 1 minute).  Add the sugar and continue to beat until light and fluffy.  Add the egg beat well, then add applesauce mixture, and beat well.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl as needed.  Beat in the vanilla extract and lemon zest (extract).  With the mixer on low, add the flour mixture (in three additions) and milk (in two additions) alternately, starting and ending with the flour.  Mix only until combined.  Gently fold in the blueberries.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 55 minutes (Mine took 50 minutes), or until the bread is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Allow to cool, then glaze!  Yummy, yum.  Enjoy!

Original Recipe: http://www.eat-yourself-skinny.com/2011/07/blueberry-lemon-bread.html

Vanilla Glaze

Recipe- My own (Brooke B.)

Servings 12:

Calories- 21

Ingredients

1/2 cup confectioners sugar

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp – 2.5 tsp rice milk (you can use which ever you prefer, I just happened to pull this out & I like rice milk, so I used it.)

Directions

Mix all together until smooth.  Then drizzle on loaf.

(My little slice of lemon-y sugar heaven.  Photo by me.)

Now go head into the kitchen and get your bake on… trust me this lemon-blueberry loaf is pretty bomb.  The flavors are nice, light, and refreshing too, perfect for summer!

xox & sugar from the kitchen,
Brooke B.

P.s- now that I’m on a mission to skinnify (yup, I made that word up, ahah) every and all dessert recipes please feel free to comment or message me with any requests you may have!

P.p.s-  That reminds me recently I joined Foodbuzz, Tasteologie, and Pinterest, so all my links are below, which makes it even easier to contact me!

My Foodbuzz Profile: http://www.foodbuzz.com/foodies/profile/thesweetprimadonna

My Foodbuzz Posts: http://www.foodbuzz.com/foodies/profile/thesweetprimadonna/posts

Tasteologie:  not really a link, just gotta find my links on there by looking up my posts

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/bbuckett3/the-sweet-prima-donna-blog-my-baking-blog/

7 responses to “Skinny & Healthier Lemon Blueberry Glazed Loaf! (150 Calories a slice!)- Plus an announcement!

  1. Hey Prima Donna, nice blog, nice recipe. Blueberry-Lemon is what we call “Boycake” in the baking industry. women tend to buy chocolate or raspberry, but men tend to head towards lemon or lime. I enjoyed your work here. I hope to see more.

  2. Thanks so much for the recipe. Tried it this morning and everything came out great! I will not miss the extra butter/eggs/sugar at all! You now have a new fan. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

