Skinny Chocolate Chip Cookies & Chocolate Chip Cookie Sandwiches

Yesterday I went pinning crazzzzyyyyyyy on pinterest.. like maybe spent a good 4 (to 5) hours on there.  Yeah, I had some time on my hands I guess.  Anywho, while on my pinning rampage I came across a super cute cookie, I mean it was pink, so it had to be cute.  A normal chocolate chip cookie makes my mouth super happy, but a pink chocolate chip cookie?  Now that would make my mouth ecstatic.

I had been wanting to whip up a batch of lightened up chocolate chip cookies for quite sometime, but thought that it’d take a while to come across a good, solid, yummy cookie that was crispy on the outside, and soft and chewy on the inside, but who would’ve thought I’d hit it on the first try!  At just 50 calories per good sized cookie, I LOVE this recipe, which I got from cooking light.  It is soooooo buttery, and the texture was to die for, just what I described above.  This cookie is the bomb and the fact that it is pink, come on it doesn’t get much better!

Even though these are killer by themselves I thought I’d jazz them up a bit because I was taking them to a party, so I wanted to make them look ultra appealing, and sound delicious, so I decided to stuff them with lightened up buttercream!  Yum!  I’ve been scouring the internet for a lighter/ skinny buttercream, but it keeps leading to a dead end.  So with that I knew I had my work cut out for me.  This recipe is made just like regular buttercream, but I replaced part of the butter with brummel & brown spread, which is a yogurt spread that can be used as a substitute for butter.  The results were very good!  The texture was a bit thinner than what I’d like because I cut down on the sugar, and also the brummel is much thinner than shortening or butter due to the lack of fat, but other than it was great.  The taste was dead on, just what I was looking for!

I just need to add that these little sweet sandwiches are a butter lovers heaven.  Seriously, sooo buttery tasting, yum, of course without the fat & calories of butter, which makes it even better tasting!

Two good sized chocolate chip cookies for just 100 calories?  Yes, I think we have a winner.

(Photo by me.)

Best skinny Chocolate Chip cookies

Recipe via http://www.food.com – originally a cooking light recipe

Servings 46 Small Cookies

52 calories per cookie

1.7 g fat

OR

23 Large Cookies

104 calories per cookie

3.4 g fat

Ingredients

1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour (10 oz.)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 large egg whites

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (ghirardelli)

Red Food Gel

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. (Prepare a baking pan, lining it with parchment paper to be sure they don’t stick)

Combine flour, baking soda, and salt, stirring with a whisk.

Combine sugars and butter (and 2-3 drops of red food gel dye, add until you achieve desired color, remember as they bake the color lightens) in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended. Add vanilla and egg whites; beat one minute.

Add flour mixture and chips, beat until blended.

Drop dough by level tablespoons (I used 1/2 tbsp measure to make 46 cookies) 2 inches apart onto baking sheets coated with cooking spray.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or until lightly browned (Take them out at 10 minutes, they may not look ready, but any longer and they will burn!). Cool on pans 2 (10 minutes) minutes. Remove from pans; cool completely on wire racks.

*My modification in pink

Original Recipe : http://www.food.com/recipe/chocolate-chip-cookies-from-cooking-light-230112?scaleto=2&mode=null&st=true

Lightened up Buttercream Frosting Recipe

Recipe via allrecipes.com

Servings 20

20 calories per serving

.08 g fat

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp shortening (Brummel & Brown Spread)
  • 1 tbsp butter, softened (Don’t soften!)
  • 1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 tsp milk (1% milk)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, shortening, and vanilla. Blend in the sugar, one cup at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in the milk, and continue mixing until light and fluffy. Keep icing covered until ready to decorate.

*My modifications in pink

Original Recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/buttercream-icing/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=buttercream&e8=Quick+Search&event10=1&e7=Recipe

To put sandwiches together take a little bit of buttercream spread on one cookie and then place other cookie on top.. don’t think that that needed to be explained, but just in case!  Oh, and be sure to only use a very small amount this frosting recipe doesn’t make much so you need to make sure you have enough for all the sandwiches, if you have extra at the end you can always open the sandwiches back up and add more frosting!  Each cookie sandwich as 125 calories!

(Photo by me.)
So now I’m off to eat the whole plate, I mean a couple more! (;  Hope you enjoy them as much as my family & I do!
xox & sugar from the kitchen,
Brooke B.
2 responses to “Skinny Chocolate Chip Cookies & Chocolate Chip Cookie Sandwiches

  1. Tasted great but looked NOTHING like the picture. Unfortunately, baking is apparently not my strong point. 😉 thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

