Chocolate Chunk Muffins.. without all the chunk! (115 calories per muffin &healthy too!)

(Chocolate Chunk muffins.. only 115 calories?  Skinny & Healthy? Yes!  Photo by Me.)

Chocolate-y chunk muffins….mhmmm sounds delicious!  Honestly does it get any better than a big old chocolate chip muffin from Dunkin’ Donuts?  If you answered no, than I’m right there with you!  I love muffins, especially Dunkin’ Donuts, but I avoid eating them because they are empty calories and at 550 calories per muffin they aren’t the type of food you can just eat all the time.  Every now & then I’ll indulge in one, but my body is full for about 10 minutes from the muffin, then I need to eat again.. So yeah, obviously not a good choice for me.

I’ve been wanting to make muffins lately that would be good for me, look yummy, and taste fantastic.  I wanted sweet, but not too sweet, buttery, and oh yeah the most important of all chocolate-y!  This muffin fulfilled all my requirements.  The great thing is that even though it doesn’t taste exactly like a Dunkin’ Donuts muffin I actually like it more.  Their treats are super artificial tasting, and could never pass as homemade, these babies I whipped up though, yeah you can taste the love I put into these.

The great thing about these too is that they aren’t all skinny at 115 calories per muffin, but also are pretty healthy!  A lot of the healthier muffins don’t always look so appetizing, but I think I did a pretty good job on making these appealing.  They’re much darker in appearance than your average muffin because they’re made with whole wheat flour, wheat bran, and white flour.  I decided to not make them all whole wheat because for me that is just to healthy tasting, so the white flour did a nice job of balancing the flavor.  I chose to add the wheat bran solely for the health benefits it provides, especially the dietary fiber, which keeps you full longer, plus it packs some vitamins into these puppies.  (Trust me though, you really can’t taste neither the wheat bran, nor the whole wheat!)  Another modification I made was subbing half of the butter for applesauce to take out some of the fat, and opting to use Earth Balance Olive Oil spread, instead of butter.  I wanted to make sure the butter flavor was still there though, so I chose to add some butter extract, which could be optional in this recipe, but I think its what makes it taste ‘bad for you’. (;  The last big change I made was instead of using splenda, as the recipe called for, I chose to use 4 tablespoons of sugar, and 12 packets of stevia, which is equal to 8 tablespoons of sugar.  I don’t like using the artificial sweeteners when I don’t have to.  The more natural the better, so I thought this blend worked out nicely, and the reason I chose to use some sugar was because I wanted to make sure my Dad wouldn’t be able to tell I used Stevia.. just trying to please his taste buds too!

I made 12 muffins with this recipe, which was originally a recipe for 1 large bakery style muffin.  So I multiplied the recipe by 6, and then divided that batter amongst 12 muffins.  If I made these again I’d chose to make 6 large, instead of 12 small because I plan to eat them for breakfast, so that would be a better serving size to keep me full.  The small muffins (12 servings) only have 115 calories a piece; perfect snack size!  These are good for a snack, my sister & I both ate these this morning and they held us till lunch.. about 3 hours, but if you chose to make 6 servings with this batter instead each large muffin (6 serving) would only have 230 calories, perfect-o for breakfast!

But seriously.. you could have 5 of these delicious, nutrition packed gems or one fat filled, sugar pit fall from D&D… which one would you like?

(Photo by me.)

Chocolate-y Chunk Muffins

.. without the chunk 

Recipe slightly adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction Blog (www.sallysbakingaddiction.com)

Servings 6 large- 230 calories, 9.6 g fat (mostly healthy from the earth balance), 4 g fiber, 4 g protein, 16 g sugar

Servings 12 small- 115 calories, 4.8 g, 2 g fiber, 4 g protein, 8 g sugar

Ingredients

4 1/2 tbsp wheat bran

1/3 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup white, all-purpose

1/4 tsp salt

12 packets of stevia

4 tbsp white granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp butter extract

1 tbsp vanilla extract

3 tbsp unsweetened applesauce

3 tablespoon earth balance, olive oil butter spread

1/4 cup mini, semi-sweet chocolate chips (you can sub for vegan chips)

32 chips of (one serving is 16 chips) 60% cacao chips (ghirardelli)  (can be replaced with more semi sweet, which would lower calories a bit) (you can sub for vegan chips)

8 tablespoons milk (I used rice)

Directions

Preheat oven to 330 degrees.  Line muffin tin.  Mix all dry ingredients in bowl, then add wet ingredients.  Stir just until combined.. over mixing will result in tough muffins.  Bake until toothpick comes out clean.  Be sure not to over bake and make them dry. Small muffins take 10 minutes to cook.

Original Recipe:  http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2012/03/21/skinny-chocolate-chip-muffin-for-one-2/

(Look at these little happy, rainbow chocolate muffins!  Photo by Me.)

Now go indulge!  You’ll feel great about these muffins, trust me!  You save yourself 3 dollars a muffin, and you get to actually feel full after eating a chocolate chunk muffin, it is a win-win if you ask me!

xox, & sugar from the kitchen, 

Brooke B.

2 responses to “Chocolate Chunk Muffins.. without all the chunk! (115 calories per muffin &healthy too!)

Leave a Reply

