The BEST Rich Dark Chocolate Brownies ever! (Skinny & Healthy! – 135 calories)

Okay, so are you ready for these brownies?  Like seriously you might want to prep yourself over there because these are supercalifragilisticexpialidocious and even that word may be an understatement.

 Yes, they are just that good.

After making the batter at 8 this morning I was like, okay I need to try it because the batter is generally a dead giveaway on how the final product is gonna be.  So I took my finger, dabbed it onto the spatula and gave my finger a lick.  Well that one lick turned into me scraping every last bit of batter off of the spatula and blender… so clearly the batter was delicious meaning I was in for some good brownies!

When they came out of the oven I was dying to try them, but the recipe warns to wait for them to firm up a bit in the fridge before trying because they are soooooooo fudge-y that they won’t cut well without spending some time in the fridge.  So, I let them cool for a few minutes, popped them in the fridge, and counted down the minutes (they were painfully slow) until I could take them out and devour!  The minutes passed and the time came.. I pulled them out, cut them into some pretty squares, and then took my first bite!  I think I took a trip to Heaven… they are out of this world.   I love that they aren’t as sickeningly sweet as some brownies.  I wasn’t intending them to taste like dark chocolate, but because I chose to put 60% cacao chips in instead of the usual semi-sweet they had a much richer flavor, which was awesome!  These brownies will be enjoyed but both children and adults, but more so adults.  My sister (who is 10) liked them a lot and gave them a 9, but said that she prefers milk chocolate brownies, so next time she wants semi-sweet chips in them.  I personally would prefer the cacao chips any day.

Even though I licked the blender clean, and then tried to get all the crumbs from the pan,  yes.. embarrassing, these brownies are the kind you can only eat one of because they are so extremely rich!  And coming in at only 135 calories a piece what a perfect treat these are!  These are made with oat flour (by grinding up old fashioned oats), and have yogurt, both nutritious ingredients.  And because they are made with good ingredients they are also quite nutrient rich!  3.6 g of protein and 2.6 g of fiber… seriously those are amazing stats for a brownie!  I think the only other brownie that could come close to those stats are fiber one brownies (not the yummiest if you ask me.)  So eat these up for breakfast dessert or a snack. (;

(Look at those glorious chocolate chips!  Photo by me.)

 Skinny & (Healthy!) Rich, Dark Chocolate Brownies

Recipe adapted from Dashing Dish

Servings 8

Calories-135

Fat- 4.2g

Fiber- 2.6g

Protein- 3.6g

Sugar- 17.9g

Ingredients
  • 6 oz. fat free vanilla yogurt (I used Dannon light & fit)
  • 1/4 cup skim milk  (I used low fat vanilla soymilk)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar (or Splenda) (I used 1/2 cup of sugar & 1/2 cup stevia)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats (not quick oats)
  • 32 ghiraradelli 60% cacao chips
  • 1 tbsp white chocolate chips (for drizzling)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 8×8 inch pan with non-stick cooking spray (or line with parchment paper, like I did). Set aside.
  2. Place all of the ingredients into blender. For easier blending, place the liquid ingredients into the blender first. Blend until mix is smooth and oats are ground up. *You will have to stop the blender and scrape down the sides a few times.
  3. Pour batter into prepared baking dish.
  4. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from the sides of the pan. (I baked for 22 minutes) Brownies will be extra fudgy, so let cool for 2 minutes, then place in fridge for 2-3 hours to let set before cutting.
  5. Melt white chocolate and drizzle.
  6. Cut into 8 squares and enjoy!

*Anything in pink is a modification made by me.

Original Recipe: http://dashingdish.com/recipe/peanut-butter-swirl-brownies/

(Photo by me.)

Run, hop, skip, whatever you feel is necessary to get the kitchen as quick as possible and whip yourself some of these fantastic chocolate-y babies up!  Hope you enjoy the brownie making process as much as I did. (:

xox & sugar from the kitchen, 
Brooke B.
2 responses to “The BEST Rich Dark Chocolate Brownies ever! (Skinny & Healthy! – 135 calories)

Leave a Reply

