(Skinny) Flourless Soft & Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies – (65 calories per cookie & vegan friendly)

Okay, so today I met the love of my life.  It was instant attraction.  He was sweet, and had a soft center, you know like a soft heart.  He goes by his initials PB and his last name is Cookie.  This by far has been the most loved I’ve felt in a while.  I mean come on at just 65 calories per cookie, he really loves me and is watching out for my waistline, so I can just keep enjoying him, cookie after cookie and not have to worry about feeling guilty.

(My new boyfriends. (:  Photo by me.)

Hope you didn’t get too excited.. hahah.  Now for some serious business about these scrumdeliumpcious cookies…

These puppies are a mere 65 calories and they are good sized cookies (a bit bigger than a cookie such as the chips ahoy ones)!  Like seriously, I can’t begin to wrap my mind around it because these are by far the best peanut butter cookie I’ve eaten in my life.  Before trying these I liked peanut butter cookies, but if there was a choice I’d never pick a pb cookie.  Well today, that all has changed because if these cookies were on a table beside a full-fat chunky monkey chocolate chunk cookie I’d pick these in a heartbeat!  They are seriously that good!

This recipe was literally me just going out on a whim.  I had no idea how they’d turn out because I lowered the fat drastically by substituting more than half the pb with better n’ butter, which has a very miniscule amount of fat.  I also subbed out half the white sugar for stevia to lower the sugar and calories.  The last thing I did to make them a bit healthier and lower the fat is substitute an egg for a flax egg.  When I whipped the batter up let me tell you I was super skeptical, like almost threw it out.  It looked like there wasn’t going to be enough batter to even make 3 cookies forget 8, but I said well it’s better to try than waste. So I scooped the very small amount of batter I had and formed 8 tiny (jumbo sized gumball) balls.  Then I took a fork and spread them out a little bit, but didn’t completely flatten because I knew they’d spread as they baked.  I then took a packet of stevia and lightly sprinkled each ball with it.  I placed them in the oven, and watched intently trying to see what would happen and guess what looks like the big man was looking out for me, and luck was on my side because like I said they came out FABULOUS! (:

These have a light golden brown color, and are crispy and chewy around the edges, and soft and chewy in the center.. oh goodness, they just are perfect-o.  Another thing that is great about these are that they are made up of only several ingredients, and require literally no time!  It took me 3 minutes to actually whip up a batch and it takes 6:30 minutes to bake!  These would be great to take to a party if you are running short on time and want to bring something homemade, or a great after school or after work snack, oh and of course there is always dessert too!  These would be sinful if you took a little bit of low fat ice cream and stuffed two cookies with it, yum!

(Photo by Me.)

The BEST Soft & Chewy Peanut Butter Cookie (Skinny)

Recipe by Me

Calories per cookie- 65

Fat- 2.6g

Fiber- 1g

Protein- 1.7g

Sugar- 6g

Servings 8

Ingredients

2 tbsp Natural creamy peanut butter

3 tbsp Better n’ butter regular pb

2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp stevia (I used 3 packets of stevia in the raw)

1 tbsp + 1 tsp light brown sugar

1 tsp flax meal, mixed w/ 1 tbsp water (let sit for 10 minutes to firm up)

1/4 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp + 1/8 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp butter extract

Directions

Spray a cookie pan, and preheat oven to 350.  Mix all the ingredients together in a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. (Dont be freaked out that there isn’t much dough!)  Roll dough into 8 small balls (the mix is very sticky, you may have to wash your hands a couple times).  Flatten the balls a bit, but not too much.  Sprinkle each ball with stevia.  Bake for 6:30 minutes or until lightly golden brown.  Let cool on baking sheet for 5-10 minutes or until firm enough to come off with a spatula.  They may stick a bit so loosen up with spatula before pulling off the pan!

Grab a big glass a milk, and try not to eat the whole batch by yourself! (;

Enjoy!

xox & sugar from the kitchen, 

Brooke

P.s – These are vegan friendly too!

Leave a Reply

