Oreo Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cupcakes (skinny-167 calories per cupcake!)

Creamy, smooth, decadent, chocolate-y, blissful, heavenly, and highly addictive… all words that could describe these delicious Oreo Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cupcakes.  Now that’s a mouthful.

I can’t stress enough how yummy these were, I mean I only ate 4 straight off of the cooling rack, and then proceeded to try to eat a 5th before reminding myself that they will still be there tomorrow and I’d rather have another to eat up tomorrow for a snack!  Me and my sweet tooth….. my best friend and my worst enemy.  I’m a hard wired sweet lover, it runs in my family big time.  I come from a dessert loving, cake making kind of family.  The good thing is is that I don’t have to feel too, too guilty about these luscious, velvety treats!

A nice slice of Oreo cheesecake would set you back 460 calories, 16g of fat, and 32g of sugar at Cheesecake factory, while my skinnified version, which may I add includes scrumptious semi-sweet chocolate chips in the batter as well, not just oreos, comes in at only 167 calories, 6.9g of fat, 13g of sugar, and has 5.3g of protein.  Top off with a little fat free cool whip, and let me tell you, you’ve got yourself one heck of a treat!  Cheesecake factory beware, Brooke B. is coming out swinging.. might just have to open myself up a place, The Skinnycake factory…yeah I’ve got big dreams, aha.

I also really loved these heavenly cheesecakes because they weren’t overly, sickly sweet as I find many cheesecakes to be, which was yet another draw of this particular recipe for me.  I subbed half the sugar with stevia, which worked out nicely cutting back on the sugar in the recipe, as well as calories.  In addition to lessen calories and fat I choose to use reduced fat oreos as the crust, and also as the cookies that are in the batter.  The original recipe for this cheesecake called for vanilla wafer cookies, but I’ve seen oreos used as the crust before on other sites, so I thought why not!  The traditional crust would set you back some more calories due to the butter, and fat from regular graham crackers, so the oreo is a great substitute.  I really enjoyed the flavor, but note that the cookie doesn’t stay hard after being cooked, it becomes softer, but its nice because it makes it much easier to bite into and more crust like due to the soft texture.

These cheesecakes are super simple to whip up, and I love how they are already pre-portioned, which obviously didn’t stop me, but their pre-portioned size makes them a great treat to bring to a party!  It takes only 30 minutes to make a batch of these from start to finish, so maybe it’d be a good idea for you to head out into the kitchen now and spend the time you would watching your favorite soap opera instead making these lush, creamy cups of cheesecake goodness!  There are always re-runs on later, and by then you will have some nice cheesecake to accompany you and your favorite show making it that much better!

(Photo by Me.)

Oreo Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cupcakes

Recipe adapted from Gina’s Skinny Recipes

Servings 12

Calories-167

Fat- 6.9g

Sugar-13g

Protein- 5.3g

Ingredients

6oz Vanilla Greek Yogurt 0% fat (I used chobani)

2 tbsp granulated sugar

3 packets stevia in the raw (sugar substitute equal to 2 tbsp sugar, or 2 tsbp sugar- note this would add calories)

8oz 1/3 fat block cream cheese, softened

2 large egg whites

1 tsp vanilla extract

16 reduced fat oreos

2 tbsp mini semi sweet chocolate chips

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Line cupcake (12 cupcake pan) with liners.  Place an oreo in the bottom of each liner (you will have 4 oreos left, set aside for batter).

3. Beat cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla until smooth with electric mixer.

4. Beat in yogurt, egg whites, and flour.  (Be sure to not overbeat).

5. Crush 4 remaining oreos into small pieces, and then mix in crushed oreos and chocolate chips into the batter by hand.

6. Evenly distribute batter amongst the cups.

7. Bake 20 minutes, or until center is almost set.  Remove from oven and cool to room temperature.  If they have reached room temperature, place them in the fridge for 1 hour, (or if you can’t wait like me, you can do it quick and place them in the freezer for 20 minutes, but be sure not to leave them in there too long, you don’t want them to get gross and freeze!)

Original Recipe: http://www.skinnytaste.com/2012/05/red-white-and-blueberry-cheesecake.html

Now pull them out of the fridge.. take your first bite, take in the pure bliss that these babies punch, and then hop on your computer and let me know how you liked it!

(Photo by me.)

I’d love to hear some feed back from you guys, and hopefully hear that you are loving the sweet treats here at Sweet Prima Donna!

xox & sugar from the kitchen, 

Brooke B.

Leave a Reply

