Top Things Tuesday! Week of Aug. 13th

It is that time again, time for another Top Thing Tuesday!  This past week I’ve been tracking things I love in order to share with you guys yet another list of awesome things!  If you haven’t got to check out last weeks Top Thing Tuesday or are new to my blog you can check it out here!  Now lets get it started!

1. Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia Froyo.

I decided to try and pick the healthier choice the another night, when my cousins & I went out for a late night run for ice cream and goodies.  We bought a tray of brownies, some cupcakes, and cookies, and each opted to buy our own pint of Ben and Jerry’s, we were sugar hungry to say the least.  I LOVE Cherry Garcia ice cream, a newly discovered love affair, so I went with the Cherry Garcia Froyo.  I was slightly weary because I wasn’t a big fan of the Brownie froyo by Ben & Jerry’s, but nevertheless I took the plunge and I’m sooooooooooooo glad I did!  Huge pieces of fresh cherries, and big chunks of chocolate are scattered through out the creamy, sweet frozen yogurt, and once I took a bite there was no going back, I have the empty pint to prove the evidence.

Image

(Look at those cherries and chocolate chunks! I don’t own this photo.)

2. The new Lilly Pulitzer Print- Bocce

I’m a die hard Lilly Fan and look forward each season to seeing the new prints that are released.  The Fall prints are pretty cute, but the print Bocce is super duper fab!  It is navy blue with pink lips, & I’m loving it!  It’s a bit different then Lilly’s usual flowers, and even though I do love these prints it’s a nice break in the routine.

Image

(Loving this dress for the end of summer!  I don’t own this photo.)

3. The Olympic closing ceremonies

 The Olympic ceremonies were beautiful and very well done, but the “Imagine” performance and Russell Brand’s performance were my favorite by far!  The John Lennon sculpture made of all the pieces was a unique, great idea, and I loved the beauty of that performance with all the young children signing the song as it was played.  Plus “Imagine” is one of my all time favorite songs making it that much better! Russell Brands performance also struck a cord because I’m a Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Fanatic, and I loved how he came in singing “Pure Imagination”, a song that fits his personality to a T.  His performance was also super fun and colorful, so it was very entertaining to watch.

John Lennon- “Imagine” performance- Olympics 2012

If you didn’t get to tune into the closing ceremonies be sure to check them out on the internet, you won’t regret it!

4. The Pretty Princess Tumblr

I’m pretty preppy and as I was pinning away the other day I stumbled upon some really cute pictures of things I loved!  After checking a couple of them out I realized they were all linking me to the same website, which was www.prettyprincess.tumblr.com .  I have to say what a cute site, and if you are a prep like me be sure to head on over, there are tons of cute things to check out from fashion, to handsome preppy boys, the adorableness is endless!

5. “LOL” the movie

I know, I know, totally cliche.  Teenage Drama, Miley Cyrus, some silly love scenes, I get it.  But trust me this movie is totally different.  I don’t know what it was, but I was glued to the TV.  Generally when I watch a movie I have the computer next to me playing on facebook, while half heartedly watching the movie.  This movie made me put the lappy aside and give my full, undivided attention.  I think what touched me was the Mother-daughter relationship in the movie because it reminded me of me and my mom, and most of the drama in the movie could have been real life, so it wasn’t overly exaggerated making it a more relatable teen drama.  Either way, I loved it and would highly recommend it.  Go Miley!

(“LOL” movie poster.  I don’t own this photo.)

6. “Take a Walk”- Passion Pit

My last favorite thing of the week, but certainly not my least favorite, this song is phenomenal.  I’ve been belting it out in the car, in the shower, and it gets me moving on my walks and runs.  This song pumps me up and puts me in a good mood, and reminds me why I walk, lol, I know geeky, but it explains how when you are stressed out, you take a walk and it helps, so it’s a true life song I guess, so I can relate to the artist, how cool am I?  Ahah.

Oh and I almost forgot my most favorite thing of all from last week!  My peanut butter cookies!  These babies are totally out of this world!  As I said in the post I’m not a big pb fan, and pb cookies aren’t usually my thing, but I couldn’t keep my paws of these babies, which tells you just how good they were!  Bake a batch up, and let me know how you feel!

Soft & Chewy Flourless Skinny Peanut Butter Cookies (65 calories!!!)

(My photo.)

Well guys, I hope you enjoyed Top Things Tuesday, and will check out some of the things listed above.  Let me know what you think about anything listed above, I always love hearing from you guys!

xox& sugar from the kitchen, 
Brooke B.
One response to “Top Things Tuesday! Week of Aug. 13th

Leave a Reply

