Top Things Tuesday! Cookies, Cake, and Cuteness!

Hey, hey, hey it’s Toppppp Tuesday!

Woah!  If you haven’t seen the movie “Fat Albert” before you may not get the reference above.  I apologize for that, but I just had to do it.  Lately I’ve been on a rhyming kick.  For example yesterday was my friend’s birthday, and she got a lovely facebook post saying “Happy Birthday hizzle fo’ shizzle, love you” from who other than me.  Lovely Brooke, lovely.

So I guess I can start off my Top Things Tuesday with rhyming being number one on my things I’m loving this week, ahah.

And with that we will start with my second favorite thing this week:

2.  Confessions of A Cookbook Queen- Blog

I can tell you right now when it comes to blogs it doesn’t get much cuter or more awesome than this blog.  Need a cute idea for cupcakes?  Head on over.  Need a fabulous recipe?  Check it out.  Need to brighten your day by reading a silly post?  She has that too.  I think you get the idea, this blog is pure greatness.  I’ve been reading this blog for over a year, and it never ceases to amaze me how much I love this blog!  Plus I’m pretty sure Kristan, (the lovely lady who writes Confessions of a Cookbook Queen) is me in about 10 years… kinda weird to see yourself in the future, ahah.

3. These super cute tumblers!

(I don’t own this photo.)

The prep in me screamed when I saw these.  I mean bows on a cup?   Why didn’t I think of this!  Love, love, love, and they’re monogramed.  Come on it doesn’t get much cuter!  (P.S- just had to tell you, yes this was a pinterest find.  I guess good things can come from healthy obsessions!)

Here is the link:  http://www.etsy.com/listing/100948630/scalloped-monogram-initial-personalized

There are all different ones, so be sure to check out the Etsy store these are from!(:

4. Otis Spunkmeyer Cookies

(I don’t own this photo.)

Ok, so obviously I love dessert.  I prefer to eat it skinny when I can, but let me tell you I indulge a lot too.. when I say a lot I mean a good 3-4 times a week.   Cookie dough is a total, total weakness of mine.  I’m pretty sure I could eat a whole batch of store bought cookies, but that is only if they’re still in dough form.  That is the best way to eat a cookie, don’t you think?  Well every time I go to my cousin’s house they always have a big ol’ tub of Otis Spunkmeyer Cookies in the freezer, and every time I come over they just somehow happen to come out of the freezer, and half the tub seems to disappear, but only when I’m there.  Strange, huh?  Looks like the Cookie Monster (aka Me) made an appearance, ahah.  But seriously this dough is absolutely delicious, and I highly recommend this brand if you need a quick cookie and aren’t in the mood for making homemade dough.  The brownie batter is my favorite, but I’d gladly take the Triple Chunk.

5.  “Postcard from Paris”- The Band Perry

This song is so great, and I catch myself singing to it all the time, and turning it on over and over again until I just can’t listen to it anymore.  I have to say I’m an all around music lover. Any genre you put on I can find songs and bands I like, but alternative and country music have my heart.  Especially country music because I grew up listening to it.  I’ve noticed in the past couple of years so many great bands have popped up and The Band Perry is definitely amongst them.  If you’ve never heard them before try listening to any of their songs they’re all great!  I’d even recommend them to a non-country fan.. just a shout out to all my pop fans, give them a go!

6.  Chocolate Seduction Cake- My recipe!

(The Process. Photo by me.)

(All finished!  Photo by me.)

As I said in my post about this scrumdeliumpcious cake, this past weekend was my Cousin’s birthday party.  I was the cake maker, how lucky was I!  I was soooo excited I had the privilege to do so, so I wanted to make sure that my cake was a crowd pleaser.  I don’t like to boast, but from the feedback I got this cake delivered.  It was hard to fail with two layers of super-duper moist chocolate cake, filled and topped with ganache, frosted entirely in chocolate fudge frosting, then covered completely in chocolate chips, chocolate candies (kit-kats, twix, reeses, cookies&cream chocolate, rolos, and heath!), and then drizzled with white and semi-sweet chocolate.  Every bite resulted in a sigh, it was that good!  Everyone said that it was so worth having to wear stretchy pants the next day, ahah.  It was a little bit of a gut buster. 😛

Welp that’s it folks!  As always I hope you check some of these fab things out and let me know what you think!  I love hearing from you all and it means a lot to get feedback!

P.S- If you missed last week’s recipes here they are:

Skinny Peanut Butter Pies with Chocolate Chip Crusts!- I couldn’t get enough of these.  Hopefully eating a pb pie for breakfast counts as a nutritious breakfast, I mean it does have pb, right? (130 calories!)

 Chocolate Seduction Cake– Not so skinny, lol, but oh so worth it.  What a raver this cake was.. if you are a chocolate lover/ all things delicious lover I’d check it out!

2 responses to “Top Things Tuesday! Cookies, Cake, and Cuteness!

Leave a Reply

