Melt in your mouth Butterscotch Heath Cookies (Skinny-45 calories!)

Since I was very young my family has always called me Cookie Monster because Cookie rhymed with my nickname Brookie, and the monster thing just added a fun twist to the nickname.  Little did they know that the nickname wouldn’t just be a nickname, but ultimately prove to be true.  Put a plate of cookies in front of me, and I’ll show you who the Cookie Monster is… that’s right it’s me.   Ahaha.

I love a good cookie just like the next guy, and these Butterscotch Heath Cookies fit the bill.  Everyone I shared them with didn’t just eat one, but closer to 3 or 4, and I got a request to make a batch just for my Grama who isn’t the biggest eater, proof of how yummy these babies were.

(Photo by Me.)

These cookies were a spin off of my original Skinny Pink Chocolate Chip Cookies, which were delish.  Those got a lot of oh’s and ah’s too!  You would never ever guess that one of these cookies is only 45 calories.  The butter-y flavor of the heath and butterscotch shines through and the flavor of the cookies literally melts on your tongue.  The cookies are chewy, yet soft and tend to get crunchier if not eaten the same day.  They are sweet, but definitely not too sweet..   My original recipe called for all sugar, and all butter.  This time I subbed half the butter for Brummel & Brown butter spread, and I subbed part of the sugar for stevia, which lowered the fat, and lowered the sugar content of these cookies.  The heath and butterscotch add fat and sugar, so these substitutes help keep the calories, sugar, and fat down in the recipe.  I’ll also include the recipe for my modified Chocolate Chip Cookies below!

Skinny Butterscotch Heath Cookies

(Photo by me.)

Adapted from my recipe for Skinny Chocolate Chip Cookies

Servings 10 Cookies

Calories per cookie 45

Fat- 1.5g

Ingredients

1/2 cup + 1 tbsp white flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tbsp granulated sugar

3 packets of stevia in the raw- or the equivalent of 2 tbsp of sugar (any sugar substitute will do)

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp brummel & brown (butter-yogurt spread)

1/2 a large egg white

1/4 tsp vanilla

1/16 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp heath bits

1 tbsp butterscotch morsels

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350.  Line baking sheet with silicone baking liner (prevents cookies from spreading.  If you don’t have this you can use parchment paper.)

2. Beat butter and sugars.

3. Beat in egg white and vanilla, and mix for 1 minute on med-high.

4. Whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.

5. Mix butter mixture and flour mixture. Once the flour mixture is almost completely mixed in add butterscotch morsels and heath and just mix until stirred in throughout the batter.

6. Spoon batter onto the baking sheets by the 1/2 tbsp.

7. Bake for 9 minutes, or until lightly golden brown.

8. Allow to cool on baking sheet for 5-10 minutes, then move to a cooling rack.

Modified Chocolate Chip Recipe (recipe w/in post)

Calories lowered from 52 with 1.7g of fat to 45 and 1.5g of fat.

These cookies would be delicious anytime of year, but I think they’d be especially delicious alongside a plate of Butterbeer Cupcakes in the Fall!  What yummy, warm tasting treats.  Both have butter-y undertones, and would compliment each other well at the table.  Hope you enjoy!

(Butterbeer Cupcakes. Photo by Me.)

Now it’s your turn to be the Cookie Monster and you can eat the whole plate.. pretty much guilt free! (:

Xox & sugar from the kitchen,
Brooke B.
7 responses to “Melt in your mouth Butterscotch Heath Cookies (Skinny-45 calories!)

  1. Wow, I just found your blog through Free Spirit Eater and boy, am I glad I did!! Your recipes look AMAZING. I love butterscotch cookies and these look fantastic, can’t wait to try them!

  2. These cookies are AMAZING! But I don’t know where you got your calorie info… when I added it up, it came closer to 80 cal/cookie. 1/2 c flour ~= 220 cal; 1/4 c brown sugar = 210 cal; 1T butter = 100 cal: those ingredients alone bring you over 530 calories total, or 53 per if you make 10 cookies. Still, worth every bite! And if you make the recipe into 16 cookies instead of 10, then they’re 45 cal each!

    • Hi Rosie,

      Thank you soo much for stopping by, I’m glad you loved them! I just recalculated the ingredients and I got 53 calories per cookie. It was 220 for flour, 180 for brown sugar, 100 for butter, and 140 for butterscotch and heath chips. I’ll be sure to correct the info, thank for picking up on that! (:

Leave a Reply

