S’mores Cookies… no campfire required! (Skinny – 87 calories a piece!)

(S’mores Cookies.  Photo by Me.)

Michael Jackson got it right when he said, “Don’t stop till you get enough.”  Yup I didn’t stop eating these insanely good S’mores cookies till I got enough, which took about 4 cookies.. big sized cookies, lol, oh s’mores how I love you!

S’mores to me are always the perfect combo of some pretty delish flavors.  Each component of a s’more I love by itself, so when they all get together it’s like a party in my mouth! And I definitely don’t feel alone in my love for s’mores.  It’s pretty evident as I scour the internet that there are a lot of peeps out there who are feeling exactly the same way!

Being a pinner addict and all, lately I’ve been seeing tons, and tons of s’mores recipes, well because it’s Summer and all, lol.  They all look fantabulous, and I thought wow if a regular s’more is out of this world what would it be like in brownie, cake, or cookie form?  Hmm…. it didn’t take much time to figure out it’d be fantastic!

So I searched through the recipes, looked at what I had to work with, and set out to make those delicious, calorie loaded treats lighter.  And I think I succeeded.. no I know I did because everyone loved them in my house, and like me my sister couldn’t just stop at one she had three in one sitting!  Winner, winner, chicken dinner!!

These babies are super-duper easy to make, and all together take about 20 minutes including the making & baking process.  These are like a s’more on steroids that’s the only way I can describe these gooey, chocolate-y, honey sweet s’more cookies to you!  & to boot the average s’more has around 150 calories a piece… these babies have almost half the calories!  Each s’more cookie comes at at only 87 calories a piece, so you can easily indulge in two S’more cookies & feel no guilt… & on top of that there is only 1.3 g of fat in each one!

(More s’mores cookie action… Photo by Me.)

To lower the calorie count I used mini marshmallows, so there would be more marshmallow-y flavor throughout the cookie,  I also used chocolate chips in the dough, which gives a lot of chocolate flavor without using the big chunks of candy bar that a s’more usually has, and I also subbed regular graham crackers for their low-fat counterpart.  The cookie recipe is my own low-fat/low cal cookie recipe, so by using this recipe instead of a normal cookie dough recipe the calories and fat were also greatly reduced!

S’mores Cookies

Recipe my own (Brooke B.)

Servings 21

Calories per cookie- 87 calories

Fat- 1.5g

Sugar- 6g

Ingredients

1/2 cup + 1 tbsp white flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tbsp granulated sugar

3 packets of stevia in the raw- or the equivalent of 2 tbsp of sugar (any sugar substitute will do)

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp brummel & brown (butter-yogurt spread)

1/2 a large egg white

1/4 tsp vanilla

1/16 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1.5 tbsp mini chocolate chips

1/3 cup mini marshmallows

1 Hershey’s plain milk chocolate bar (you will use 10 & 1/2 of blocks, so there will be 1 & 1/2 blocks left when finished)

11 Low fat honey graham crackers (broken in halves)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350.  Line baking sheet with silicone baking liner (prevents cookies from spreading.  If you don’t have this you can use parchment paper.)  Place graham cracker halves on the baking sheet.

2. Beat butter and sugars.

3. Beat in egg white and vanilla, and mix for 1 minute on med-high.

4. Whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.

5. Mix butter mixture and flour mixture. Once the flour mixture is almost completely mixed in add chocolate chips and marshmallows and just mix until stirred in throughout the batter.

(Look at the marshmallows & chocolate in the batter!  Yum!!  Photo by Me.)

6. Spoon batter onto the graham crackers by the 1/2 tbsp.

(Pre-baking.  The dough on top of the graham crackers.  Photo by Me.)

7. Bake for 6 minutes, then take the cookies out of the oven and place a half a block of the candy bar on each cookie.

(Six minutes into baking. Putting the chocolates in place.  Photo by Me.)

8. Put cookies back in the oven, and bake for 5 more minutes or until golden brown.

(Baked & Cooling.  Look at the melted chocolate & marshmallow! Photo by Me.)

9. Cool for 5-10 minutes on the sheets, then move to a cooling rack.

These cookies are great if you are looking to jazz s’mores up a little, or if you want to stay indoors, but still are in the mood to enjoy the great flavors of s’mores!

Grab a bag of fluffy marshmallows, some sweet chocolate, and those crunchy graham crackers and head on into the kitchen… I dare you! (;

(S’mores Cookies. Photo by Me.)

Enjoy!

4 responses to “S’mores Cookies… no campfire required! (Skinny – 87 calories a piece!)

  1. I have been craving s’mores all summer and these are perfect! I used dark chocolate chips and put a half a graham cracker on top! Perfect-O!!!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

