Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream… a party in your mouth!

Anything with the word fun in it is appealing to me.  I mean fun who wouldn’t want to have some good old fashion fun?

Funfetti takes the cake for being one of the funnest (yes, I used that word) things I know of because come on everyone knows good, sweet, fatty food is always fun, it’s like a party in your mouth!

When I made these last week to bring to my cousin’s birthday party I think I brought the fun.  They livened up the party and made people even happier than they already were… or at least I like to think so! (;

(Funfetti Cupcakes!  Photo by Me – Brooke B.)

The pretty pink, and green frosting, and the cute rainbow sprinkles make these super appealing to look at, and honestly when something is super cute it’s even more fun to eat!  I think that is the main reason funfetti is always a cake that is requested by the youngsters, myself included, but trust me the adults loved this cake too! I got a lot of “oh my goodness these are the best cupcakes I’ve had in a long time”, and “wow who brought these?” types of compliments, which makes me think they were pretty good!

They tasted like a sweet soft sugar cookie, and the frosting was reminiscent of a thick sugar-y frosting that goes on top of a the soft sugar cookies.. they were just crazy good!  I’ve always loved the lofthouse type of sugar cookies, which are fluffy, and pillow like to bite in versus the crunchy butter-y sugar cookies, and these cupcakes give me all the flavors I love from the lofthouse cookies, which means I’ll definitely be making these a lot from now on!

(Picstich of the funfetti process.  Photo by Me- Brooke B.)

Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes

Servings- 12 cupcakes

Recipe adapted from the Sweet Peony Blog

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup whole milk
1/3 cup assorted colored sprinkles (I used the big wax jimmies)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a 12 cupcake pan.

2. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

3. In the bowl of an stand mixer with paddle attachment beat butter and sugar on medium-high until lightened in color and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Lower speed to medium and add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition and scraping the bowl as needed.  Add vanilla and mix until combined.

4.  Reduce mixer speed to low and add the dry ingredients in two batches, alternating with the milk and mixing just until incorporated.  Fold in sprinkles with a rubber spatula.

5. Fill the cupcake liners about 2/3 full.  Bake for about 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Let cupcakes cool in pan for 5 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.  Then frost with vanilla buttercream (the recipe is below).

For the Vanilla Buttercream recipe click here

*The only difference I made in the frosting recipe for these cupcakes is that I used heavy cream, instead of milk.  The frosting using milk is really great, but use heavy cream and I’d say this frosting is to die for!

Assembling the cupcakes:  Once you’ve made the frosting separate the frosting evenly between two bowls. Using any color food coloring you’d like color the frosting.  Then using a large round tip frost the cupcakes, and finish by sprinkling with rainbow jimmies!

(Funfetti Cupcakes.  Photo by Me- Brooke B.)

Hope you enjoy these bright, fun little cuppycakes!  I know I did!   Be sure to have a big container of rainbow sprinkles ready I’m sure you’ll find a way to use them all!
Have a great day and I hope these cuppycakes find a way onto your plate some time today to brighten your day up!
P.S- Just a disclaimer these aren’t skinny!  I just don’t want anyone to eat 5 of these thinking they are skinny… they aren’t ahah.  But indulge yourself every now and then. These are worth the indulgence!
Leave a Reply

