Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes with Vegan Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

What do all vegans dream of?

Oh I know, butter.

You know the good old fashioned, cream ladden, smooth, salty kind that as a vegan is strictly off limits.

image

Before exploring different substitution options I could have never imagined how one would live without this glorious ingredient in all their favorite desserts.  What other ingredient could take the spot of butter in all my favorite cookie, brownies or cupcakes.  Well luckily there are many alternatives on the market, but even luckier for me and other vegan dessert lovers alike there are some recipes that bypass butter or vegan butter substitutes altogether and still come out just as glorious as their butter laden counterparts.  The recipe below is ‘that’ recipe and proves that a cupcake doesn’t need a zilliion calories in fat to taste great!

image 7

This cupcake is fantabulous, like super duper fantabulous.  Everyone who tried one would go wide eyed after their first bite, then precede to say give a long drawn out ‘mhmm’ or ‘yum’.  As a baker you know when that is the response you’ve done well.  When it came time for me to eat my cupcake I was expecting a good cupcake, but what I found was much better than ‘good’ it was great.  Super moist, light and airy, and a delicate taste of cocoa all topped with a wonderful sweet and creamy buttery taste in my mouth thanks to the incredibly delicious vegan buttercream frosting on top.  This cupcake is definitely a 10 in my books and I will certainly being using this cupcake recipe as my go to vegan chocolate cake recipe and the buttercream recipe as my go to vegan buttercream recipe.

image 5

Recipe is as follows:

Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

Recipe from: My Little Blogspot (http://lnowak.blogspot.com/)

Servings: 10 medium sized cupcakes

Ingredients

1 & 1/2 cup cake flour

3/4 cup granulated sugar (if you want to ensure that this is completely vegan use raw sugar or another vegan alternative)

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup & 1 tbsp vegetable oil (I used canola oil)

1 tbsp white vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar instead, as I do in all desserts as I prefer the taste)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 & 1/4 cup water

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 and line 12 cup muffin tin with 10 liners.  Fill the remaining 2 cupcakes with about a 1/2 inch of water so cupcakes will bake evenly.

2.  Sift together all dry ingredients in a bowl.

3.  In a large bowl mix together all wet ingredients.  Then slowly mix dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  Mix until smooth.

4. Divide batter evenly among tins and fill tins about 3/4 of the way full.

5. Bake 20-25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. (Mine took exactly 20 minutes, so be sure to check!)

6.  Allow cupcakes to cool on a wire rack.

7.  Frost with Vegan Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (recipe below)

Vegan Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

Recipe from: Sometimes I Veg Blog (http://sometimesiveg.com/)

Servings: about 10

Ingredients

1 cup vegetable shortening, room temp

1 tbsp vanilla extract (the original called for 1 tsp, but I felt it was lacking any vanilla flavor, which is why I bumped it to 1 tbsp)

1 tsp butter extract

4 (& 1/3 cups) powdered sugar (I added the additional 1/3)

2 tbsp non dairy milk alternative ( I used plain lowfat almond milk, and added an additional 2 tsps)

Directions

1.  Beat shortening in an electric mixer until light and fluffy.

2.  Slowly mix in butter and vanilla extract.  Once well mixed in slowly add powdered sugar.

3. After all the sugar is mixed in slowly add milk until you’ve reached a pipeable consistency.

4. Frost your cakes!

This post is a call to vegans and non vegans to head to the kitchen now and getting cookin’.  You will not be sorry I promise and I’m sure you’ll be blown away by the fact that this cupcake is made with no butter or mayo like so many chocolate cakes are!

image 2

Since Valentine’s Day is just around the corner I decided to decorate these pretty in pink!  I picked up these super cute polka dot cupcake liners and heart sprinkles from Michael’s craft store and tinted my frosting pink to give these cupcakes a cute flair! But as always feel free to decorate as you please!  These bad boys would be yummy for any occasion.  Maybe Birthday cupcakes or for an Easter celebration!

I hope you enjoyed this post and a very Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your loved ones or one ;).

Screen shot 2012-08-20 at 7.26.07 AM

Leave a Reply

