White Chocolate Skinny Mini Chocolate Chip Cookies! (48 calories per cookie) (Safe to eat dough, Egg-Free!)

Looking to lick Cookie Dough off the spoon and not feel so bad?

Well I’ve found this answer and it’s this recipe.

IMG_0358

This recipe is spoon licking good and you would never guess it’s healthier than your average cookie!  My goal was to create a cookie dough that could be eaten raw, but also tasted super yummy after being baked!  I could not stop tasting the delicious dough while scooping the cookies onto the sheet and after being baked it took all I had to hold back from eating a billion of these babies.

IMG_0356

To make these healthier I substituted half the butter called for in the recipe with Olive Oil spread, swapped out the granulated sugar for baking stevia, as well as some of the brown sugar for baking stevia to reduce the calories.  I also choose to use a flax egg in order to make it healthier and also safe to eat while raw.  And lastly I used only a 1/4 of the amount of chocolate chips called for in the recipe, but I used mini chips so that the chocolate flavor would be evenly spread throughout the cookie!

I had posted another chocolate chip cookie recipe a while back that was excellent!  I still really love that recipe, but I always am up for trying new recipes and as I said I was looking to find a recipe that was safe to eat raw as well, so I gave this new recipe a shot.  For me they were equal in taste and all my taste testers kept going back for more, so that tells you that they were most definitely yummy!  As for differences I found this cookie to be a bit more dense, but soft, almost pillow like in the middle and no as oily or buttery flavor.  One thing I really loved about this cookie was the flavor of the two chocolates thanks to the wonderful white chocolate drizzle on top of the cookie!  I preferred these cookies once they were cooled over right out of the oven as the flavor was more prominent, but in all honesty they tasted scrumptious both ways!

IMG_0347

White Chocolate Skinny Mini Chocolate Chip Cookies

Original Recipe via:  Cooking With Siri (http://www.cookingwithsiri.com/2012/08/perfect-light-desserts-recipe-best.html)

Modified Recipe by: Me (Brooke B.)

Recipe servings: 45 small cookies

Calories per cookie: 48 calories without white chocolate drizzle, 53 calories with white chocolate drizzle

Ingredients

1 & 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp unsalted butter, softened to room temperature

2 tbsp olive oil spread (80 calories per serving)

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp dark brown sugar

10 packets stevia or truvia (whichever you prefer)

1 flax egg

2 tbsp Unsweetened, Vanilla Almond Milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup Mini Chocolate Chips

1 serving (16 chips) of Wilton’s Vanilla Candy Melts *

Directions

Preheat Oven to 350 and line baking sheets with baking silicone liner or parchment paper.

1. Sift together flour, baking soda, and salt in bowl.

2. Beat together Butter, Olive Oil Spread, Brown Sugar, and Stevia in an electric mixer.

3. Add flax egg, vanilla, and milk to the butter mixture and beat in.  Be sure to scrape down the sides to make sure everything gets incorporated.

4. Slowly add in flour mix by 1/2 cup increments on slow speed.

5. Stir in Chocolate Chips by hand.

6. Place dough in freezer for 15 minutes until it is firm and scoopable.

7. Scoop cookies by 1 tsp, then place ball in hand and flatten into a circle (like a pancake) and then place cookie dough on sheet.

8. Bake cookies for 8 minutes.  Allow to cool for 5-10 minutes and then transfer to wire rack to completely cool.

9.  Once you have baked all the cookies and they are completely cool, melt the white chocolate.  Drizzle the chocolate over cookies (I used a fork to do so).

10.  If you’d like to get fancy feel free to add sprinkles to make them extra appealing to the eye!  Just remember sprinkles do add some calories, only minimal though, the cuteness makes up for it in my opinion!

*(You could substitute this for any White Chocolate as long as you melt it correctly.  I find Wilton’s is easiest to melt, therefore I prefer it.  16 chips of Wilton’s Candy Melts=220 calories, so if you use another White Chocolate and want the same number of calories as I have posted use 220 calories worth of chocolate)

IMG_0351

Since I made mine for a Valentine’s Day treat for my Valentine I decided to make them pretty and add some sprinkles!  Below is a picture and if I do say so myself I think they were super adorable!  My Valentine loved them and I’m sure you will love them too!  So head on into the kitchen and whip up a batch.  It doesn’t matter if you just eat the delicious dough or bake them either way I’m sure they’ll be a crowd pleaser! (:  Enjoy!!

sugar

If you are interested in more similar recipes here are some other yummy treats to check out:

cookies 2-bloh

Skinny Chocolate Chip Cookie Sandwiches with Buttercream Frosting Filling (125  calories per sandwich)

butterscotch heath

Skinny Butterscotch Heath Cookies (45 calories per cookie)

s

Skinny Reeses Cookie Cups(80 calories per cookie)

Leave a Reply

