Skinny Holiday Appetizer Ideas!

I have this rule that diets don’t exist on holidays.  I mean what person could suppress the urge to indulge on the holidays.  All the best, mouth watering, non waist friendly foods in one spot.  Clearly you can tell our family’s table is only topped with the yummiest of foods and goodies, as I’m sure your’s is too!  

Well, as much as I love all the indulgent delicacies I never mind a healthy alternative to a dish or a low fat version because I mean hey, those are the dishes that balance out the main course loaded with butter, cream, and you get the idea. (;  With this in mind I usually try to bring a dish to parties that is a better for you choice, so that I can munch heavily on that and then have smaller portions of the other not so healthy things.   If you’re like me or looking for better for you holiday dishes, then you’re in the right spot!  I’m sharing with you some wonderful healthier appetizer ideas that’ll make a great addition to your holiday feast!   

 

app collagenumbered

1. Skinny Buffalo Chicken Dip

A tried and true family favorite!  This dip is delicious and is super easy to whip up.  Satisfying and filling.  Serve it with low fat tortilla chips or pretzel crisps.

2. Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip

This is another tried and true favorite!  Again, serve it up with low fat tortilla chips or pretzel crisps and you have a ready appetizer.

3. Baked Buffalo Chicken Jalapeño Poppers

I love spicy food, so if you’re a spicy food lover than these are a bite of heaven!  J Jalapeño peppers and buffaloed chicken.  Yes!

 4. Baked Asparagus Fries 

I love, love, love asparagus.  Did I mention I love it?  So , yeah these are a definite go!

5. Skinny Chicken Egg Rolls 

Chinese food is a hit amongst local families.  Not sure if this is a trend, but if it is these would be a lovely addition to the table!  Baked, not fried is always the way to go.

6. Shrimp Spring Rolls

Spring Rolls or Nim Chow are a favorite of my family!  They are absolutely delicious and so fresh tasting!  We have always just winged them when we have made them, but this recipe is pretty similar.  Often times we sub avocado for seafood/meat and do not use mint leaves.  Our sauce is also different, but peanut sauce, like the recipe in the link, accompanies these well too!

7. Skinny Stuffed Mushrooms

I’m a huge fan of stuffed mushrooms and these have gotten rave reviews, so I will definitely be giving them a try!  Ours are usually butter, ritz cracker, and bacon laden, but I’m sure these will make a healthier alternative.

*As a disclaimer, all of the photos in the above collage DO NOT belong to me.  They belong to the website the corresponding website links to.

I hope these super yummy recipes excite you and make you look forward even more to the upcoming holidays!  I know every time I see Christmas food on Pinterest it gets me pumped for the fun times ahead!  Below are some photos of family’s Christmas Eve get together to spread some Christmas joy from my family to your’s.  I can’t believe it has already been a year since this get together(how quickly time truly passes!) and I look forward to our Christmas gathering this year, which I will be sure to share with you all!  I hope you all have wonderful, fun plans ahead with family and friends and are enjoying the season to its fullest.  




IMG_8750(My Cousins & I)


IMG_8754

(My Mom & I)

IMG_8774

(My Sister & I)

IMG_8773

(My family, well most of them! (: )

Have a wonderful day Sweet Prima Donnas! (:

sugar

Looking for some fun, delicious holiday baking ideas?

IMG_0131

Chocolate Dipped Sugar Cookie Dough Pops!

Sugar cookies are a holiday staple and with these babies you get the best of both worlds- straight cookie dough and chocolate.  Can you say Heaven?!

f

Skinny White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies

Cranberries are definitely a winter favorite!  A wonderful cookie for the holidays!

photo 4Skinny Red Velvet Cupcakes frosted with Cream Cheese Frosting

At 80 calories a pop, you cannot beat this delicious little guy!  The flavors are perfect and no one will ever believe they’re skinny.

Leave a Reply

