Mini Victoria Sponge Cakes with Butter Cream & Strawberry Filling (Easy, fast & DELICIOUS!)

One of my family and I’s favorite weekend outings during the warmer months of the year is to the local farmer’s market.  All of us love good food and they’ve got local artisan food galore, so clearly it’s a winner for us!  The farmer’s market we frequent closes up shop in the winter months, but there is another local one that my family visited last weekend.  I was working, but when I came home they had a goodie on the counter.  Me being me had to scope it out and take a nice bite and when I did I was so happy that I’m as nosey, I mean curious, as I am.  It was heavenly!

At first look it just looked like a whoopie pie covered in powdered sugar with a jam filling, but friends, it was so much more.  The label read “Victoria Sponge Cake” and the ingredients were minimal, 10 tops, which is pretty good for a layered filled cake type pastry.  The cake was perfectly moist and airy, very buttery, but in the best way without being overly indulgent, there was a layer of a thicker, less sweet buttercream frosting, and the perfect strawberry jam.  I asked the whole fam their thoughts and they all loved it as much as I had so I decided to do some research and come up with own recipe for this delicious treat!  Difficult considering I’d never had anything like this before.

I was able to find a great recipe to use as a base for my recipe.  As I baked I modified things slightly as I saw fit.  They came out almost nearly as great as the woman’s from the farmer’s market who is a native Brit and uses her mother’s old recipes, but my dad gave these jewels a 9 out of 10, so you know they’re good!  He’s not an easy one to please!

This recipe is super easy and quick to whip up despite having a couple components, and is perfect for tea time, a coffee treat, or breakfast.  

IMG_9498

Victoria Sponge Cake with

Butter Cream & Strawberry Filling

Servings: 10 Mini Cakes

Ingredients

For CAKE

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup all purpose, white flour

1 cup softened, salted butter (2 sticks)

4 eggs

2 tsp baking powder

1 & 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

3 tbsp milk (I used 1% low fat milk)

For BUTTER CREAM FILLING

1/2 cup softened, salted butter

3/4 cup powdered sugar, plus extra to sprinkle on top

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp milk (I used 1% low fat milk)

For STRAWBERRY FILLING

I used Strawberry Jam, about 1/4 cup, room temp

Directions

  1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prep large muffin/cupcake pan with liners.
  2. Place all cake ingredients into stand up mixer with paddle adjustment and mix until all ingredients are mixed and have turned into a batter.  There will be some small butter chunks.
  3. Fill 10 cupcake liners 1/2 way with batter.  Fill 2 additional empty cupcake slots with about an inch of water, which helps make cakes bake evenly.
  4. Place cakes in oven for 22 minutes.  Cake will be baked through, if you insert toothpick should come up clean and slightly golden edges.
  5. Let cool in tins for 5-10 minutes.  Take out of tray and let cool on wire rack for 3o minutes.  Pull liners off of cakes and check to see cakes are fully cooled.  Once fully cooled, take sharp, smooth knife and cut cakes in half down middle.
  6. Make cream filling by mixing powdered sugar, milk, butter, and vanilla.  Mix on low until ingredients are mixed, then whip on high for 5 minutes to make filling airy.
  7. Take split cakes and frost one half with butter cream and one half with jam, then place on top of each other to form mini layered cakes.  Sprinkle powdered sugar over top and all done!

Original Recipe

FullSizeRender-3

Hope you enjoy these goodies with a hot beverage & good company!

sugar

Leave a Reply

