Sugar Cookie Dough Pops- No Bake (Birthday Themed- How-to decorating tutorial)

I like to party, I like, I like to party…

If you don’t recall that song verse its because it’s actually “we like to party”, but pretty sure that song was meant for me because I really, really, like to party harty!  Let me be more specific though- you’re not going to catch me at college parties, or some crazy party.  I’m talking good ole fashion birthday parties.  The kind where there are cute decorations galore, a happy birthday girl/or boy and a delicious cake.  Now that sounds like my kind of party!

So we all know it’s not a birthday party if there isn’t a cake (well, in my book anyhow, because what’s a sweet celebration without a big indulgent sweet treat?!), but what if the birthday person isn’t a cake fan?  I think I’ve solved your dilemma….

Sugar Cookie Dough Pops!

They are literally blissful.

vday 4.JPG

(Photo by Me)

Now you’re probably thinking- how untraditional, why not pie or something that comes in a circular or square shape?  Well, I’ve solved that dilemma too by shaping the cookie dough pops into cake and cake slice shapes!  Clever, right?   I thought so too! (:

vday 8.jpg

(Photo by Me)

Things you’ll need to construct pops:

Instruction for Birthday Cake pops below (Instructions are for Birthday Cake themed pops, but the Cookie Dough Pop recipe is a great base to use to make pops for any occasion)

Lollipop Sticks, I used plain white ones (purchased at Michael’s. Your local craft store should have them)

Sprinkles, optional  (You can get really creative here!  I’d use rainbow sprinkles for a real birthday look!)

Wilton’s Gel Food coloring, optional (Purchased at Michaels.  Your local craft store should have it.) Necessary if you want your pops to have various colors and are not planning on using various colored Wilton Melts Dipping Chocolate.

2 styrofoam blocks (Used as a stand for pops.  I purchased at Michael’s, but you can find at local craft store.)

Sugar Cookie Dough (See Recipe Below)

Chocolate Coating

For White Chocolate Coating

I used Wilton White Dipping Chocolate (I used 1 bag, but if you’re planning on decorating more or just want to be on the safe side I would grab 2).  Wilton’s also comes in other colors if you don’t want to buy food coloring to color the chocolate as I did.  I purchased at Michael’s.

Chocolate Dipping Chocolate

I used 1/3 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chip (You could use milk or dark chocolate chips, if you prefer.) and 1 tbsp Coconut Oil (You could use shortening, if you prefer).  I placed both into a plastic microwave safe container and heated on 8 power for 30 second intervals, stirring in between until melted & smooth.

You could also use Wilton’s Chocolate Dipping Chocolate if you’d like an easier method.

Sugar Cookie Dough Pop Recipe

Servings will depend on what shape pops you make.  I made about 20 pops.

Ingredients

1 stick salted butter, softened

1 & 1/2 cups of yellow cake mix (I used Pillsbury Golden Butter Yellow Cake Mix)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup all purpose flour

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup rainbow jimmies (optional, if used make sure they are soft jimmies or there will be an odd crunch in the dough)

Recipe originally from The Novice Chef

vday 9

(Photo by Me)

Directions for Dough/Pop Assembly:

1. Dough Directions- Mix all the above ingredients in an electric mixer.  If the mix is a bit dry add milk by tsp until it forms a soft dough (I used 2 tsp of milk).

2. Form dough balls in various sizes to form different shapes:

-1 tbsp size balls (for round shaped pops)– Just roll dough into a perfectly round ball.

-1 & 1/2 tbsp balls for cake slice pops– After rolled into ball, slice off two sides of ball to form a wide triangle that will look like a cake slice.

-1 & 1/2 for cake shaped pops– After rolling into ball, flatten slightly, and round out edges to form a pancake like circle that is thick on the sides until it appears like a one layer cake.

Set cookie dough shapes on a plate that can be put into refrigerator.  I recommend putting a piece of parchment paper down so they don’t stick at all to the plate.

4. Place dough shapes into refrigerator for 30 minutes.

5.  5 minutes before dough is done chilling, pour 12 white chocolate melts into a small bowl and melt in microwave safe plastic dish for 30 seconds on power 8, stir and repeat if needed.  Heat until smooth.  Set aside.

6.  Once balls have chilled, take out of the refrigerator.  Dip end of lollipop stick into chocolate and then stick stick into each dough ball.  Place pop into styrofoam block to prep to be dipped in chocolate and stick block back into the fridge for 10 more minutes for chocolate to set.

IMG_9537

Pops in styrofoam holder

(Photo by Me)

 

7.   Melt Wilton’s Chocolate Melts in a double boiler on low/med heat and continually stir until smooth.  Also, if using regular chocolate, melt also in separate container.   I used 1/3 cup of semisweet chocolate chips with 1 tbsp of coconut oil to use as decoration.  Just place chips and oil into a plastic microwave safe bowl, heat on power 8 for 30 seconds, stir and repeat until fully melted.I divided my white chocolate into 3 bowls- one bowl I mixed with Wilton’s pink gel coloring, another I colored with Wilton’s red gel coloring, and the last bowl I left the chocolate white.  The majority of my chocolate I left white because I used it as a base for most of my pops, but it’s truly up to you!  Move quickly though so the chocolate stays smooth and doesn’t harden.  Also, when coloring with gel I recommend dipping a toothpick into gel dye then adding into chocolate, so that you can achieve the color you desire.

8.  Dip pops into desired chocolate and hold over bowl while excess drips off.  I’ve had many fiascos with my pop falling off the stick into the chocolate (you don’t want this to happen), so I suggest watching a couple videos if this is your first time at the rodeo chocolate dipping.  Here is a video I found helpful: How to dip cake pops

9.  After you’ve dipped your pop fully into its first color, set aside into second styrofoam block and leave that block in fridge and as you dip place into the refrigerator.

10.  After they’ve all been dipped, take pops out of the refrigerator and prepare to decorate.

IMG_9531.JPG

Decorating supplies

(Photo by me)

 

Here are some decoration ideas:

For the cakes – I dipped them in white first, let them set in fridge.  Some I sprinkled on the bottom, others I left completely white.  For the colored frosting and ‘ganache’ looking tops, I simply took a teaspoon and filled it half way with whichever chocolate I wanted to use as topping and slowly poured on top and moved chocolate around with spoon to create the dripping over the edge.  You can either leave blank or decorate tops with sprinkles.

For cake slices– I dipped all mine in white, you could dip in chocolate if you want it to look like chocolate cake, let that set in fridge.  Then I took a teaspoon and filled halfway with chocolate I wanted to use as frosting and frosted the top and sides slowly to make it look frosted, then I look a toothpick, dipped it in chocolate, and dragged it around middle of cake to make it look like a layered cake.  These can be sprinkled too if you want more of a fun look!

For the round pops– I simply dipped into the color chocolate I desired, (put sprinkles on now while wet, if you desire) then let cool in fridge.  When you take it out you can them if you’d like.

If these instructions seem a little all over the place, simply take a look at some pictures I’ve provided in this post of the ones I’ve made & use your imagination to decorate away!  I’m sure they’ll be fabulous!

 

vday 11.jpg

(Photo by Me)

Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do!  Most of all though, I hope you have lots of fun making this delicious recipe & that whichever party you bring them to- birthday party, sleepover party, holiday party, whichever, you have a blast!

sugar

 

 

Leave a Reply

